The Nakahara Prize


The Association created an official prize for the first time in 1995. The aim of the prize is honoring and encouraging young (precisely speaking, under 45 years) economists to publish internationally well-recognized papers and/or books. The Board of Directors selects the members of a nominating committee consisting of both Japanese and foreign economists, who choose one prize recipient every year. This award system has been made possible by the generous endowments by Mr. Nobuyuki NAKAHARA, a businessman, for the first nine years and afterward by the Shin-Nihon Scholarship Foundation of which Mr. NAKAHARA is the president.

The Nakahara Prize Winners

Year Name Affiliation
1995 Fumio Hayashi University of Tokyo
1996 Kiminori Matsuyama Northwestern University
1997 Nobuhiro Kiyotaki London School of Economics and Political Science
1998 Kiyohiko Nishimura University of Tokyo
1999 Akira Okada Kyoto University
2000 Kazuya Kamiya University of Tokyo
2001 Charles Yuji Horioka Osaka University
2002 Michihiro Kandori University of Tokyo
2003 Hideshi Itoh Hitotsubashi University
2004 Hitoshi Matsushima University of Tokyo
2005 Takeo Hoshi University of Califolnia, at San Diego
2006 Yuichi Kitamura Yale University
2007 Akihiko Matsui University of Tokyo
2008 Atsushi Kajii Kyoto University
2009 Hideo Konishi Boston College
2010 Kamihigashi Takashi Kobe University
2011 Atsushi Inoue North Carolina State University
2012 Mototsugu Shintani Vanderbilt University
2013 Katsumi Shimotsu University of Tokyo
2014 Kosuke Aoki University of Tokyo
2015 Keisuke Hirano University of Arizona
2016 Sagiri Kitao Keio University
2017 Hiroyuki Kasahara University of Columbia
2018 Toshihiko Mukoyama University of Virginia/Georgetown University

Home > Awards > Nakahara Prize